What Do Type Certificate Data Sheets Contain?


Heather Bennett

Type Certificate Data Sheets (TCDS) are an essential part of the aviation industry. They contain detailed information about an aircraft’s design, performance, and limitations. Let’s take a closer look at what TCDS typically include.

1. Aircraft Identification

Each TCDS starts with the aircraft’s identification information, including the manufacturer, model name, and variant. This section provides a quick overview of the aircraft’s basic details.

2. Type Certificate Holder

The next section of the TCDS identifies the organization or company that holds the type certificate for the aircraft. This is usually the original manufacturer or a subsequent holder authorized by the aviation regulatory authority.

3. Certification Basis

In this section, the TCDS outlines the regulations and standards against which the aircraft was certified. It includes references to specific airworthiness codes and regulations that were followed during its design and production.

4. Technical Description

The technical description is one of the most crucial parts of a TCDS as it provides detailed information about the aircraft’s structure, systems, and powerplants. It includes dimensions, weights, fuel capacity, seating capacity, and other relevant specifications.

4.1 Dimensions and Weights

This subsection covers important dimensions such as wingspan, overall length, height, and wing area. Additionally, it includes maximum takeoff weight (MTOW), empty weight, and payload capacity.2 Powerplants

In this section, you’ll find information about the engines installed on the aircraft. It includes details like engine type, thrust rating or horsepower output for piston engines.3 Systems

The systems subsection covers various aircraft systems, including electrical, hydraulic, fuel, and avionics systems. It provides an overview of how these systems function and any specific limitations or requirements.

5. Performance Data

This section provides performance-related information for the aircraft, such as maximum speed, cruise speed, stall speed, climb rate, and range. It also includes information on takeoff and landing distances under different conditions.

6. Operating Limitations

Operating limitations are essential for safe operations.

This section outlines various limitations that pilots must adhere to when operating the aircraft. It includes maximum operating altitude, weight limitations for different flight phases, and recommended airspeeds.

7. Emergency Procedures

In case of emergencies or abnormal situations, this section provides clear instructions on how to handle them safely. It covers procedures such as engine failures, fires, electrical failures, and other critical scenarios.

8. Supplementary Data

The supplementary data section includes additional information that may not fit into other categories but is still relevant to the aircraft’s operation or maintenance. This can include special equipment installations or optional configurations.


Type Certificate Data Sheets are comprehensive documents that provide crucial information about an aircraft’s design, performance capabilities, and operating limitations. Pilots and maintenance personnel rely on these documents to ensure safe operations and compliance with regulations.

The use of bold text, underlined text,



  • and subheaders
  • helps organize the content and make it visually engaging while maintaining clarity and readability.

    Discord Server - Web Server - Private Server - DNS Server - Object-Oriented Programming - Scripting - Data Types - Data Structures

    Privacy Policy